<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<feed xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:thr="http://purl.org/syndication/thread/1.0">
    <title>Comments for Verisign&apos;s latest money making scam ... I mean &apos;scheme&apos;</title>
    <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme" />
    <link rel="self" type="application/atom+xml" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme" />
    <id>tag:bradchoate.com,2010://4-</id>
    <updated>2005-08-19T09:44:51Z</updated>
    <subtitle>The man, the legend.</subtitle>
    <generator uri="http://www.sixapart.com/movabletype/">Movable Type 4.2-en</generator>
 

<entry>
    <id>tag:bradchoate.com,2001://4.99-comment:70</id>
    <thr:in-reply-to ref="tag:bradchoate.com,2001://4.99" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme"/>
 
    <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme#c70" />
    <title>Comment from gX on 2002-04-19</title>
    <author>
        <name>gX</name>
        <uri></uri>
    </author>
    <content type="html" xml:lang="en" xml:base="">
        <![CDATA[<p>I just received an email from my domain name server, and thought it is helpful to you all.<br />
==================================================<br />
Network Solutions/Verisign has recently been involved in<br />
a predatory business practice where Verisign sends<br />
out misleading $29 renewal notices to customers who registered<br />
their domains elsewhere with competing domain registration companies.<br />
These notices were designed to look like actual billing statements.</p>

<p><br />
   A few customers of http://123cheapdomains.com who have<br />
never registered their domain name with Verisign received<br />
paper renewal notices via US postal mail.<br />
These $29 renewal notices were designed by Verisign to<br />
look so authentic that the letter were able to mislead some customers<br />
into thinking that the renewal notice is from their<br />
current domain registration company.<br />
Verisign forged the letters to look like a real billing statement.<br />
After customers unknowingly pay for the renewal, Verisign transfers<br />
the domain away from their current registration company<br />
without their knowledge.</p>

<p><br />
Note: These notices are designed to look like real billing statements,<br />
except that hidden on the very back of the letter,<br />
there will be in very small print that admits that they<br />
are not currently your domain registration company.</p>

<p><br />
Verisign's fine print on the back page reads:</p>

<p><br />
"By signing the reverse side of this form, you hereby authorize us to<br />
transfer the registration of your domain name(s)<br />
away from your CURRENT REGISTRAR to Verisign."</p>

<p><br />
If you have been deceived into transfering away your domain<br />
to Verisign and are angry about having to pay more for your renewals<br />
than you really needed to, you may have even contacted Verisign.<br />
But Verisign will tell you that they have not misrepresented anything<br />
and will tell you that you should have read fine print.<br />
Don't let them tell you this. They know this is wrong and so<br />
do you.</p>

<p><br />
This is definitely not fair for consumers to have to receive a<br />
"transfer away" agreement disguised as a billing notice,<br />
and what is even more compelling is that the<br />
consumer's domain name is not even with Verisign.</p>

<p><br />
As a analogy, lets pretend that you have an insurance policy from<br />
company AAAAAA. You like company AAAAAA because they are reliable and helpful.<br />
But then company ZZZZZZ sends you what looks<br />
like a renewal bill for an insurance policy. You sign off the<br />
bottom with your signature assuming that the renewal policy is from<br />
AAAAAA and but actually end up sending payment to ZZZZZZZ.<br />
Now your insurance policy has been switched to using ZZZZZZZ.<br />
Company ZZZZZZ will then try to convince you that it is legal because<br />
of their hidden fine print right after you complain.<br />
You know this is not legal but am trying to figure out what you<br />
can do about this.</p>

<p>This tatic is almost similar to telephone slamming.</p>

<p><br />
Since the FTC will definitely have a problem against companies<br />
misleading consumers with renewal billing statements,<br />
the FTC might do something about this and investigate if they<br />
can get enough complaints.</p>

<p><br />
If you, or someone you know has been fooled by this<br />
billing misrepresentation, or have received this notice,<br />
you can do your part to stop this from happening to someone else.</p>

<p><br />
Complaints to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) can be made at:</p>

<p>https://rn.ftc.gov/dod/wsolcq$.startup?Z_ORG_CODE=PU01</p>

<p><br />
Note: You can tell if your domain is with Verisign or not,<br />
simply by reading the back of their billing renewal notice.<br />
If it mentions a "transfer" anywhere on the notice, then you<br />
know that your domain is not with Versign,<br />
and the domain should not be renewed with them.<br />
It doesn't do you any good to renew with Verisign as<br />
as you will be paying $29/yr for domain renewals<br />
instead of our $13.95/yr price at 123cheapdomains.com.<br />
</p>]]>
    </content>
    <published>2002-04-20T04:58:00Z</published>
</entry>

<entry>
    <id>tag:bradchoate.com,2001://4.99-comment:1591</id>
    <thr:in-reply-to ref="tag:bradchoate.com,2001://4.99" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme"/>
 
    <link rel="alternate" type="text/html" href="http://bradchoate.com/weblog/2001/05/09/verisigns-latest-money-making-scam-i-mean-scheme#c1591" />
    <title>Comment from Scott Montgomery on 2003-10-05</title>
    <author>
        <name>Scott Montgomery</name>
        <uri>http://bluesparadise.com</uri>
    </author>
    <content type="html" xml:lang="en" xml:base="http://bluesparadise.com">
        <![CDATA[<p>Other scams to beware of are: DROA (Domain Registry of America) and Domain Support Group.</p>

<p>They both do deceptive cold contacts with domain owners trying to convince them to transfer and/or purchase domains at inflated prices.<br />
</p>]]>
    </content>
    <published>2003-10-05T20:38:37Z</published>
</entry>



</feed>